I store all my phone contacts on Google.com/contacts, and not on the phone.

On my Google contacts, my contacts are either in 2 Groups.

  1. Phone Contacts

  2. Old Contacts

My Phone Contacts are people I currently send messages to, and old contacts are those people I would not likely need to call or text any more - think of it like an archive.

So, on my phone, I have a filter on my contacts to only show the contacts in Phone Contacts - so if someone calls me from my old contacts, my phone will still display there details.

This works really well, but only has one problem.

When I add a new contact, I can’t work out how to assign a new contact into one of these groups. So when I add a new contact, there information is not displayed. I have to turn off my filter - to show all the other contacts to get the information. It’s only when I get access to a computer, I can go on Google.com/contacts to add the contact to a group so I can turn filter back on.

So, does anyone know how to add a new contact into a group on an Android phone, when contacts are managed on Google.com/contacts and in groups?

Thanks,

Jack